October 2017 Knox County School Bus Driver Awards

Wednesday, October 18th the Knox County Schools Bus Driver Safety Awards were held at Ted Russell Ford, 8551 Kingston Pike. 

Did you know…
1. The Knox County School Bus Driver awards were started in May 2016 by At-Large Commissioner Thomas to bring awareness to the hundred of bus drivers that do an excellent job driving our children to and from school safely. 
2. There are approximately 375 Knox County School bus drivers
3. They drive 20,000 miles A DAY! That’s like driving from Knoxville to Los Angeles and then BACK to Knoxville – FIVE TIMES…in ONE day. And all in rush hour.

These drivers have been graded with high standards by the Knox County School system, the contractors, the Sheriff’s Department and by school staff.

Commissioner Thomas begins the ceremony.

(From left to right) Ted Russell owner Andy White, Manager Rick Arnold who accepted award for Amy Ledbetter, driver Gerald Roe, driver Anna Cox, driver Deborah Ditchfield, driver Kreis Baldridge, Knox County Schools COO Russ Oakes, Knox County Commissioner Bob Thomas, Front Row – WIVIK the Frog)

Honoring Bus Driver Deborah Ditchfield who calmly cleared a bus of 1st graders as it was filling up with smoke.

Commissioner Thomas speaking with driver Ditchfield after the awards

The five drivers that were honored this month were:

  • Kreis Baldridge – drives bus for Norwood Elementary
  • Anna Cox – drives bus for Halls MS and High School
  • Deborah Ditchfield – drives bus for Farragut
  • Amy Ledbetter – drives bus for Cedar Bluff
  • Gerald Roe – drives a bus for Gresham

The awards are sponsored by Ted Russell Ford and WIVK 107.7. They each received a Certificate of Appreciation from the Knox County Schools, a $100 check from Ted Russell Ford and a prize package from WIVK. Congratulations drivers and job well done!

There are many great school bus drivers in Knox County and this is one small way we can show them our appreciation. If you have any questions please contact Commissioner Bob Thomas.

 Should you or any Knox County resident need assistance from Knox County government, please contact me at:
Bob.Thomas@KnoxCounty.org or 865-309-4364
Seat 10 At-Large Commissioner of Knox County Commission
Chairman, Knox County Cable TV Committee
Chairman, Knox County Disability Committee
Knox County Pension & Retirement Committee
Knox County Parks & Recreation Board
Metro Drug Coalition Board
Dogwood Arts Festival Board
Young-Williams Animal Center Board
American Cancer Society Board
Arts & Culture Alliance Board
Community Television Board
Thompson-Boling Arena Use Committee