April Knox County Schools Bus Driver Awards

Wednesday, April 19th the Knox County Schools Bus Driver Safety Awards were held at Ted Russell Ford, 8551 Kingston Pike.

Did you know…
1. There are approximately 375 Knox County School bus drivers
2. They drive 20,000 miles A DAY! That’s like driving from Knoxville to Los Angeles and then BACK to Knoxville – FIVE TIMES…in ONE day. And all in rush hour.
3. There are a lot of drivers that do it right each and every day.

These drivers have been graded with high standards by the Knox County School system, the contractors, the Sheriff’s Department and by school staff.

Commissioner Thomas begins the ceremony.


New School Superintendent Bob Thomas addresses the crowd.

(From left to right) Driver Thomas Tinnerman, Ted Russell owner Andy White, driver Frances Kirpatrick, driver Rita Ramps, driver Juanita Thomas, Knox County Superintendent Bob Thomas, WIVIK the Frog, Knox County Commissioner Bob Thomas)

The five drivers that were honored this month were:

  • Frances Kilpatrick – drives bus for Northshore
  • Rita Ramps – drives bus for Farragut
  • Douglas Romig – drives bus for Carter
  • Juanita Thomas – drives bus for Cedar Bluff
  • Thomas Tinnerman – drives a bus for Farragut

The awards are sponsored by Ted Russell Ford and WIVK 107.7. They each received a Certificate of Appreciation from the Knox County Schools, a $100 check from Ted Russell Ford and a prize package from WIVK. Congratulations drivers and job well done!

There are many great school bus drivers in Knox County and this is one small way we can show them our appreciation. If you have any questions please contact Commissioner Bob Thomas.

Should you or any Knox County resident need assistance from Knox County government, please contact me at:
Bob.Thomas@KnoxCounty.org or 865-309-4364
Seat 10 At-Large Commissioner of Knox County Commission
Chairman, Knox County Cable TV Committee
Chairman, Knox County Disability Committee
Knox County Development Corp Board
Knox County Pension & Retirement Committee
Knox County Parks & Recreation Board
Metro Drug Coalition Board
Dogwood Arts Festival Board
Young-Williams Animal Center Board
American Cancer Society Board
Arts & Culture Alliance Board
Community Television Board
Thompson-Boling Arena Use Committee